International Baccalaureate

International Baccalaureate

Education for a better world

What's the IB?

The IB (International Baccalaureate) is an established organisation that offers four globally recognised, high-quality and challenging educational programmes for a worldwide community of schools, aiming to create a better, more peaceful world.

For 50 years the IB have delivered programmes designed to engage students from 3 to 19 years of age in educational learning that equips them for life in the 21st century.

These four programmes are:
Primary Years Programme (PYP) - for students aged 3 to 10
Middle Years Programme (MYP) - for students aged 10 to 15
Diploma Programme (DP) - for students aged 16 to 19
Carreer-related Programme (CP) - for students aged 16 to 19

IB students embrace their own cultures and are open and responsive to other cultures and views. They are fully engaged, ever curious learners for life.
At the heart of all our programmes is the IB Learner Profile, a long-term, holistic vision of education that underpins the IB continuum of education and puts the student at the centre of everything we do. The Learner Profile is the IB mission statement in action and provides a set of learning behaviours which aims to inspire, motivate and focus students, teachers and the entire IB School community, uniting them in a common purpose.

* Source:

The IB Mission Statement

The International Baccalaureate aims to develop inquiring, knowledgeable and caring young people who help to create a better and more peaceful world through intercultural understanding and respect.

To this end, the organization works with schools, governments and international organizations to develop challenging programmes of international education and rigorous assessment.

These programmes encourage students across the world to become active, compassionate and lifelong learners who understand that other people, with their di erences, can also be right.

The PYP curriculum is concept and inquiry-based, with the class teacher - a mother tongue speaker - developing knowledge with the students through six transdisciplinary themes, in order to foster their communication, research, thinking, social and self-management skills, as well as numerous attitudes: "Who We Are", "Where We Are In Place and Time", "How We Express Ourselves", "How the World Works", "How We Organize Ourselves", "Sharing The Planet".

For each unit, teachers decide what the central idea will be, i.e. the topic on which the class will focus during their inquiry (Unit of Inquiry). From there, the first step is to foster the children’s natural curiosity and encourage them to ask questions and challenge them to find the answers to their own questions with the resources available. According to the IB the first step towards learning is represented by the learner’s interest and passion for learning.

Each unit leads to study different concepts of every subject-area (Physical Social and Personal Education, Language, Social Studies, Mathematics, Arts and Science). This way they will be able both to become competent and acquire a learning method they will be able to apply throughout their whole educational path.

The final desired result is that the children take action, reflecting on their learning and choose to use their understanding to make the world a better place. At the end of the PYP, students are required to develop their own Unit fo Inquiry and show the result of the research to all the school community during the final exhibition.

To know more, visit:

The Middle Years Programme, during its five year span, extends through concepts, ideas and issues related to a wide range of topics, addressing them from the local, national and global point of view in order to achieve growth by learning to reflect critically on today's society.

The latest IB research shows that students who have attended the IB MYP not only know how to manage their learning autonomously, but they also develop thoughts, arguments and critical opinions much more easily than their peers.

The Middle Years Programme curriculum is divided into a three-year and a two-year period. Throughout the programme, students are required to receive instruction in all eight subject groups set by the IB: Language and Literature, Language Acquisition, Individuals and Societies, Sciences, Mathematics, Arts, Design, Physical and Health Education (PHE). For each of these areas, the school can choose the topics they teach within each subject group and how many.

During the first three-year period (grades 6-8) the MYP subjects are approached in their entirety, while in the second two-year period (grade 9-10), students have the flexibility, for 6 hours a week, to focus on subjects of their choice in collaboration with teachers, parents, the school counselor.

During the last six months of the MYP5 programme, students prepare their final Personal Project.

To know more, visit: